Thinking about a move in Palm Beach County? Let’s talk about your goals. Get in touch

Neighborhood Guide · West Palm Beach, FL

Downtown West Palm Beach

Downtown West Palm Beach is the mainland core of the city, on the Lake Worth Lagoon in ZIP code 33401 — a mid- and high-rise district built around Clematis Street, Flagler Drive and Quadrille Boulevard, and one where the word “downtown” has three different official boundaries.

Reviewed by Christian Ash · Last updated

Illustrated West Palm Beach waterfront and skyline representing the downtown core along Flagler Drive
Property types
Mid- and high-rise residential buildings, Mixed-use development
Waterfront
Flagler Drive runs the Intracoastal shoreline for the length of the district
Getting around
The DDA states many downtown destinations are a 10–20 minute walk apart
To PBI Airport
The county’s international airport states it is 2.5 mi west of downtown
Map of Downtown West Palm Beach, West Palm Beach, Florida Open larger map →

Downtown West Palm Beach overview

Before anything else, know that “downtown” is three different places depending on who is drawing the line. The Downtown Development Authority (DDA) district, the City’s Downtown/City Center Community Redevelopment Area, and the Downtown Master Plan zoning area are three separate geographies published by three separate bodies, and none of them matches the way the phrase gets used in property marketing. The distinction is not academic: the DDA boundary determines who pays its millage, the CRA boundary determines redevelopment geography, and the Master Plan boundary determines what can actually be built.

The DDA is the narrowest of the three and the only one with a legal description in statute. It is, in its own words, “an independent special taxing district created by the Florida Legislature in 1967 at the request of downtown stakeholders.” Its charter was codified as Chapter 2003-380, Laws of Florida, consolidating the original 1967 special act (chapter 67-2170) and five later amendments, and section 3 of that charter sets out the downtown area in metes and bounds. It is governed by a seven-member board appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the City Commission, whose members must own — or lease and pay taxes on — real property inside the district.

The Community Redevelopment Agency’s Downtown/City Center district is the broadest. The City describes it as “approximately 940 acres in size with 5 separate target areas included”: the Northwest target area, Brelsford Park/Providencia Park, the Downtown Core, the Clearlake District and the Okeechobee Corridor. The Downtown Master Plan is the zoning geography, and the one that governs development. The City states the DMP “regulates approximately 767 acres,” that the original plan was adopted in 1995 and last updated in 2007, and that an update process was under way as of July 2026. The zoning code describes the plan as “reflective of the downtown’s 13 districts and their different characteristics” — though the City’s own GIS holds fifteen district polygons under fourteen names, so the count depends on which source you read.

On scale, the City publishes a striking before-and-after on its Downtown Master Plan Update page: at the time the original plan was adopted there were “approximately 1,000 residential units downtown and approximately 8,000,000 square feet of nonresidential development,” and “today, there are nearly 9,000 residential units in place and more than 10.4 million square feet of nonresidential development.” The 1995 baseline is firmly dated. The “today” figures carry no date on the page, so treat them as what the City stated when this guide was researched in July 2026 rather than as a current-year count.

Location within West Palm Beach

Downtown sits on the mainland along the Lake Worth Lagoon, directly across the water from the Town of Palm Beach, and it is in ZIP code 33401. Nothing else: point tests against the Census Bureau’s ZIP Code Tabulation Areas return 33401 throughout the district, and the 33480 that appears when the whole DDA boundary is intersected is the Town of Palm Beach — an artefact of the boundary running out over open water.

The streets that legally define the district are named in the DDA charter’s boundary description: Okeechobee Boulevard, South Dixie Highway, Hibiscus Street, Georgia Avenue, Iris Street, Lake Avenue, Australian Avenue, First Street, Rosemary Avenue, Third Street, Seventh Street, North Railroad Avenue, Eighth Street and North Flagler Drive, along with the Florida East Coast and Seaboard Coast Line railroad lines and the centreline of the Intracoastal Waterway channel. Worth noting for orientation: Clematis Street, Banyan Boulevard and Quadrille Boulevard — the three streets most people name first — are interior streets, not boundaries.

The eastern edge is water. The charter runs the boundary to the centreline of the Intracoastal channel, so the district legally takes in the marina basin; the DDA’s own district map labels the Marina Docks and the City of West Palm Beach public docks on the water side. Flagler Drive, north and south, is the shoreline road for the full length of that edge — the zoning code calls it “the city’s scenic intracoastal waterfront roadway.”

Two bridges to the Town of Palm Beach appear on the DDA’s own district map. The Flagler Memorial Bridge crosses at the north end of the district, landing on North Flagler Drive near Quadrille Boulevard; the Royal Park Bridge crosses at the south end, landing on South Flagler Drive near Okeechobee Boulevard and Lakeview Avenue. We publish no state road numbers, bridge lengths or opening schedules, and nothing about the Southern Boulevard Bridge, because no authoritative source for those was reachable during research.

One historic district sits inside the downtown planning area: the Northwest Historic District, listed on the National Register on 22 January 1992 under reference 91002005 with 316 contributing buildings. It corresponds to the Master Plan’s Northwest Neighborhood District and the CRA’s Northwest target area. Grandview Heights partially overlaps the southern edge of the Master Plan area but falls entirely outside the DDA district.

Notable features

Clematis Street
The zoning code calls the Clematis Waterfront District “the historic retail corridor in downtown,” and sets out to preserve the character and scale of existing buildings along Clematis between Rosemary Avenue and Flagler Drive.
CityPlace
The mixed-use destination at 700 South Rosemary Avenue, with more than 50 shops and restaurants and Related Ross as owner. Its site was approved as the CityPlace DRI — 74.47 acres, ordinance 2268-89, March 1989. Branded Rosemary Square for several years; that domain now redirects to cityplace.com (checked 22 July 2026).
The downtown waterfront and Great Lawn
The DDA books its waterfront events at 141 South Flagler Drive and at Waterfront Commons, 101 North Clematis Street, where its listings place the Great Lawn.
South Cove Natural Area
Described by the DDA as a six-acre natural area along Flagler Drive just north of Lakeview Avenue and the Royal Park Bridge, open sunrise to sunset, with a 556-foot boardwalk out to one of three mangrove islands.
Kravis Center for the Performing Arts
At 701 Okeechobee Boulevard, with Dreyfoos Hall, Persson Hall, the Rinker Playhouse and the Cohen Pavilion. The Center describes itself as located near downtown, roughly three blocks south of the Tri-Rail station.
Meyer Amphitheatre
At 104 Datura Street, and in regular use — the DDA lists a recurring free Wednesday evening run club starting there.
Historical Society of Palm Beach County
At 300 North Dixie Highway in the historic county courthouse, open Monday to Saturday 10am–4pm, with free general admission (as published July 2026).
Palm Beach County Convention Center
At 650 Okeechobee Boulevard, managed by OVG, with a calendar booked well into 2027 at the time of research.
Brightline and Tri-Rail
Downtown has both. Brightline’s West Palm Beach station serves Orlando, Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale, Aventura and Miami; Tri-Rail’s station is at 203 South Tamarind Avenue.

Real estate in Downtown West Palm Beach

Downtown is the one part of West Palm Beach where the housing is predominantly vertical. The DDA maintains its own directory of downtown residential buildings, and it is the most reliable answer to the question of which buildings are genuinely downtown: 28 are listed, all with 33401 addresses. Among them are 610 Clematis (251 units), The Whitney at 410 Evernia Street (210 units across nine floors), the St. James Residence at 400 South Olive Avenue (18 stories, 148 units), Plaza of the Palm Beaches at 525 South Flagler Drive (two 32-story towers), Two City Plaza (21 stories), Montecito Palm Beach (16 stories), Esplanade Grande (15 stories), the Harris Music Lofts at 206 Clematis Street (38 units in six stories), The Metropolitan (eight stories) and Evernia Place, a seven-story building for residents 62 and over. The DDA does not state tenure for any of them, so we do not label individual buildings as condominium or rental here — that is a per-building question to answer before you tour.

A correction worth making plainly, because it affects how buildings are marketed: several of the towers most often described as downtown are not inside either downtown boundary. Tested against the City’s own DDA and Downtown Master Plan polygons, the Bristol site (planned development ordinance 4487-13, approved January 2014), the South Flagler House site — recorded in the City’s planned-development dataset as Flagler Towers, ordinance 4987-21, approved January 2022 — and Alba all fall outside both. Alba is roughly three miles north of the downtown core, in the north Flagler corridor. Olara, at a stated address of 1919 North Flagler Drive, does not appear in the City’s planned-development dataset at all and sits north of the charter’s Eighth Street boundary. These are Flagler Drive waterfront buildings north or south of downtown, and that is how this site describes them. One Flagler, by contrast, is confirmed by its developer as a completed 25-story building designed by David Childs of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.

What can be built downtown is set district by district under Article IV of the zoning code, and the ranges are wide. In the Quadrille Business District — which the code calls “the main office core for downtown, and a link between the city’s two main retail centers: CityPlace and Clematis Street” — base heights run from three stories or 50 feet in QBD-3 up to ten stories or 155 feet in QBD-10, with floor area ratios between 1.00 and 3.50 depending on subdistrict and street frontage. The Clematis Waterfront District runs from five stories or 68 feet up to ten stories or 128 feet, and caps lot agglomeration in its CWD-CD subdistrict at 25,000 square feet, which is why that stretch has stayed fine-grained. The Flagler Waterfront District has a base height of five stories or 68 feet.

Those are base heights, not ceilings. The City maps an incentive system parcel by parcel, and its highest tiers reach 25 stories in the Quadrille Business, Quadrille Garden and Okeechobee Business districts. There is also a transfer of development rights program in the code. But the code itself warns that these “describe maximum development allowances” and that the ability to achieve them “may depend on a number of factors,” including other provisions of the code and the physical characteristics of the site. Treat any height you read as a question for the Planning Division about your specific parcel, not a guarantee.

On price, we publish no figure for downtown, because none that meets our sourcing standard exists. There is no authoritative median or average sale price for downtown, for the DDA district, for the City of West Palm Beach or for ZIP 33401 — the Palm Beach County Property Appraiser publishes no such number, and no days-on-market, inventory, price-per-square-foot or association-fee figure was locatable either. Christian works from verifiable comparables for the specific building and line, and will show you the source and date behind every figure.

Property styles you'll find here

High-rise towers

The tallest buildings in the DDA’s downtown housing directory include two 32-story towers at Plaza of the Palm Beaches, a 21-story building at Two City Plaza and an 18-story building at the St. James Residence.

Mid-rise buildings

A large share of the directory sits between six and sixteen stories — Montecito Palm Beach at 16, Esplanade Grande at 15, The Whitney at nine and The Metropolitan at eight.

Converted and loft-style buildings

Several downtown addresses carry loft names, including the Harris Music Lofts at 206 Clematis Street — 38 units in six stories — along with 101 Lofts and Alexander Lofts.

Age-restricted and assisted living

The DDA lists Evernia Place, a seven-story building for residents 62 and over, alongside Lourdes Noreen McKeen on South Flagler Drive and the St. Andrews Residence on Fern Street.

Mixed-use development

The downtown zoning districts are written around buildings that combine ground-floor retail or office with residential above; the Quadrille Business District is described in the code as the main office core linking CityPlace and Clematis Street.

Ownership considerations

Downtown property inside the DDA boundary carries an additional taxing district. The DDA’s charter authorizes a levy of up to two mills, and the Authority publishes a current rate of 0.97 mill — $0.97 per $1,000 of assessed value, illustrated on its own site with a $500,000 condominium paying roughly $485 a year. That rate is undated on the page, so confirm the current millage before relying on it; the two-mill statutory cap is the fixed part. The DDA also states it is authorized to levy a second mill, which has been covered since 2007 through an interlocal agreement with the City’s CRA.

For a sense of direction rather than of price, the Property Appraiser publishes the DDA as its own taxing authority on the county tax roll. Total taxable value inside the district was $4,378,896,905 on the final 2025 roll dated 8 October 2025, and the Property Appraiser’s 2026 estimate dated 1 June 2026 puts it at $4,791,806,771 — a 10.46% increase, of which $223.3 million is net new construction value. That is an aggregate taxable value for a whole district, not a price, a median or a per-unit value, and it should never be read as one.

Because downtown is governed by three overlapping boundaries, verify which ones a specific address falls inside before you assume anything about it — the DDA levy, CRA programs and the Master Plan’s zoning district each apply to different footprints. The City’s Planning Division and the Property Appraiser’s parcel record are the places to confirm it.

Lifestyle in Downtown West Palm Beach

Downtown is the most walkable part of West Palm Beach, and the DDA — which is the district organisation, and pays for the daily cleaning, landscaping and wayfinding — puts it this way: many downtown destinations are “within a 10- to 20-minute walk of each other, including Clematis Street, the waterfront, CityPlace, the Brightline station, the Palm Tran Intermodal Transit Center, and nearby dining and entertainment areas.” That is the DDA’s own district-level statement, not a measured door-to-door time, and we deliberately publish no walk or drive times for individual addresses. This site does not license Walk Score, so you will not find one here.

One thing to correct before you plan around it: there is no longer a free downtown trolley. The DDA’s own page states that its trolleys were discontinued beginning 31 May 2023, and its successor service has also ended, with a new City mobility service only anticipated at the time of research. What runs today is described below.

Dining

  • More than 70 restaurants downtown The DDA’s own count. Its dining directory is the best current list — restaurants turn over, so check before you plan an evening.
  • Batch New Southern Kitchen & Tap 223 Clematis Street.
  • Avocado Grill 125 Datura Street — small plates and cocktails.
  • Banter Restaurant 380 Trinity Place.
Show 3 more
  • Blue Mountain Coffee House 540 Clematis Street, Unit 3 — Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, breakfast and lunch.
  • Arya Tea Bar 508 Clematis Street.
  • Bocao Latin American Restaurant 501 North Olive Avenue.

Shopping

  • CityPlace More than 50 shops and restaurants at 700 South Rosemary Avenue, owned by Related Ross. Crate & Barrel, Anthropologie and Alo are among the South Rosemary Avenue addresses.
  • Clematis Street and Olive Avenue The other retail environment downtown — smaller storefronts, including Pioneer Linens at 210 North Clematis Street and Center City Pharmacy at 416 Clematis Street.
  • Bechtel Jewelers 215 South Olive Avenue — described by the DDA as originally established on Clematis Street in 1930 and third-generation family-owned.
  • West Palm Beach GreenMarket On the downtown waterfront every Saturday from October through April, per the DDA. Parking is a flat $5 in the Banyan and Evernia Street garages.

Waterfront & parks

  • South Cove Natural Area Six acres along Flagler Drive just north of Lakeview Avenue and the Royal Park Bridge, open sunrise to sunset, with a 556-foot boardwalk to one of three mangrove islands.
  • The downtown waterfront The DDA’s waterfront venue is at 141 South Flagler Drive; Waterfront Commons and the Great Lawn are at 101 North Clematis Street.
  • Meyer Amphitheatre 104 Datura Street.
  • Jose Marti Park 351 North Flagler Drive — a green space with a statue of José Martí, free outdoor fitness equipment and waterfront views.
Show 3 more
  • Via Jardin An alley at 330 Clematis Street with a fountain, lit at night, and views toward the waterfront.
  • CityZen Garden 400 Datura Street — a 2018 public art installation with a small outdoor amphitheater and Zen garden, by Sherryl and Beju Murriente with Marco Casagrande.
  • Lake Pavilion 101 South Flagler Drive.

Arts & culture

  • Kravis Center for the Performing Arts 701 Okeechobee Boulevard — Dreyfoos Hall, Persson Hall, the Rinker Playhouse and the Cohen Pavilion, with Broadway, classical and visiting-presenter series.
  • Clematis by Night A free weekly concert series on the downtown waterfront at 141 South Flagler Drive, Thursdays 6–9pm (schedule confirmed on the DDA calendar, July 2026).
  • Norton Museum of Art At 1450 South Dixie Highway, south of the downtown core. Open daily except Tuesday, with late hours Friday; Palm Beach County residents free on Saturdays through 5 September 2026.
  • Historical Society of Palm Beach County 300 North Dixie Highway, Monday–Saturday 10am–4pm, free general admission as published in July 2026.
Show 3 more
  • Ann Norton Sculpture Gardens 253 Barcelona Road. Open Wednesday–Sunday 10am–4pm, October through June — it is seasonal, and closed outside that window.
  • Palm Beach County Convention Center 650 Okeechobee Boulevard.
  • DowntownWPB Unlocked An augmented-reality experience by Hoverlay with, per the DDA, 30+ locations across the district.

Getting around

  • Brightline — West Palm Beach Serving Orlando, Boca Raton, Fort Lauderdale, Aventura and Miami, from 5:20am to the last train departure. Brightline and the DDA publish different street addresses for the station, so confirm before you go.
  • Tri-Rail — West Palm Beach 203 South Tamarind Avenue, with free parking for commuters and connections to Amtrak, Greyhound, FlixBus and Palm Tran routes 1, 2, 20, 31, 40, 41, 43, 44, 60 and the 95X.
  • Circuit The DDA-supported on-demand ride service within the downtown service area, 7am–9pm daily, booked in the Circuit app. The DDA states rides average around $2 — it is not free, despite older listings that say so.
  • The airport The county’s international airport states on its own site that it is 2.5 miles west of downtown West Palm Beach. The connection from the Tri-Rail station is free on Palm Tran Route 2 with a valid Tri-Rail fare.
Show 3 more
  • Parking City garages at 200, 400 and 500 Banyan Boulevard, 333 Evernia Street and 645 Clematis Street. Published rates in July 2026: $1 for the first two hours, $2 per additional half hour, $20 daily maximum, $5 all day on weekends and holidays outside special events.
  • BrightBike Described by the DDA as the official bike sharing and rental system for the City of West Palm Beach, with stations throughout the city.
  • Rose Trolley A limited on-demand service running during the summer 2026 transportation transition, with $1–$3 zone fares. Explicitly temporary — check what is operating before you rely on it.

Nearby schools

Public schools

Private schools

  • PreK-2 through Grade 8

    An independent school with its Grades 4–8 campus on the island at 241 Seaview Avenue, and its PreK-2 through Grade 3 campus at 1901 South Flagler Drive in West Palm Beach.

  • Age 18 months through Grade 8

    An independent, coeducational Catholic school at 807 North Flagler Drive in West Palm Beach, sponsored by the Adrian Dominican Sisters.

  • Grades PK3–8

    A Roman Catholic school at 324 North Olive Avenue in West Palm Beach. Listed here via its federal directory record, as we could not verify an official school website.

  • Grade span not stated on the school’s site

    An independent school at 307 Evernia Street offering an Orton-Gillingham programme for students with dyslexia.

  • Grades PK–12

    An independent school at 2001 South Dixie Highway, south of the downtown core.

School information is provided for reference only and can change. Attendance boundaries, grade levels, and admissions are set by each school and district — confirm details directly with the school. Nothing here is a rating or an endorsement.

Browse the full Palm Beach County schools directory →

Nearby communities

Downtown West Palm Beach questions, answered

What are the boundaries of Downtown West Palm Beach?
It depends which official boundary you mean, because there are three. The Downtown Development Authority district is the narrowest and the only one described in statute: its charter, codified as Chapter 2003-380, Laws of Florida, sets out the downtown area in metes and bounds, naming Okeechobee Boulevard, South Dixie Highway, Hibiscus Street, Georgia Avenue, Iris Street, Lake Avenue, Australian Avenue, First Street, Rosemary Avenue, Third Street, Seventh Street, North Railroad Avenue, Eighth Street and North Flagler Drive, along with the Florida East Coast and Seaboard Coast Line railroads and the centreline of the Intracoastal Waterway channel. The City’s Downtown/City Center Community Redevelopment Area is the broadest, described by the City as approximately 940 acres across five target areas. The Downtown Master Plan area — the zoning geography, and the one that governs what can be built — is described by the City as regulating approximately 767 acres. All three share the same core around Clematis Street, Flagler Drive and Quadrille Boulevard and diverge at the edges, particularly to the south and west. Downtown is in ZIP code 33401.
Is Downtown West Palm Beach walkable?
It is the most walkable part of the city, and the Downtown Development Authority states that many downtown destinations are within a 10- to 20-minute walk of each other, naming Clematis Street, the waterfront, CityPlace, the Brightline station and the Palm Tran Intermodal Transit Center. That is a district-level statement by the DDA rather than a measured time, and it should not be read as a door-to-door figure for any particular address — the district runs well over a mile from end to end, so where you live inside it matters. This site does not license Walk Score and publishes no walk, bike or transit score. Downtown also has both Brightline and Tri-Rail stations, city parking garages, and the DDA-supported Circuit on-demand ride service.
Is there still a free downtown trolley?
No, and this catches people out because older articles and blog posts still describe one. The DDA’s own trolley page states that DowntownWPB trolleys were discontinued beginning 31 May 2023, and its successor service, the City’s RideWPB, has also ended — the DDA’s current transport page describes it concluding while the City prepares to launch a new mobility service. As of July 2026, what actually operates is Circuit, the DDA-supported on-demand ride service running 7am to 9pm daily and booked through the Circuit app, which the DDA says averages around $2 a ride — it is not free, whatever older listings say. The Rose Trolley is running limited on-demand service during the transition, with $1 to $3 zone fares, and is explicitly temporary. Check what is currently operating before planning around any of it.
What kind of homes are in Downtown West Palm Beach?
Mostly vertical. The DDA maintains a directory of downtown residential buildings — 28 of them, all with 33401 addresses — and the range runs from two 32-story towers at Plaza of the Palm Beaches and a 21-story building at Two City Plaza down through mid-rises such as Montecito Palm Beach at 16 stories, Esplanade Grande at 15, The Whitney at nine floors and 210 units, and The Metropolitan at eight. There are loft-style buildings, including the Harris Music Lofts at 206 Clematis Street with 38 units in six stories, and age-restricted and assisted-living buildings such as Evernia Place, a seven-story building for residents 62 and over. One caveat we take seriously: the DDA’s directory does not state whether each building is condominium or rental, so we do not label them here. That is a per-building question, and it is worth answering before you tour.
Are The Bristol, South Flagler House, Olara and Alba downtown buildings?
Not by the City’s own boundaries, though they are often marketed that way. Tested by location against the City of West Palm Beach’s published Downtown Development Authority and Downtown Master Plan polygons, the Bristol site (planned development ordinance 4487-13), the South Flagler House site — recorded in the City’s planned-development dataset as Flagler Towers, ordinance 4987-21 — and Alba all fall outside both boundaries. Alba is roughly three miles north of the downtown core. Olara, at a stated address of 1919 North Flagler Drive, does not appear in the City’s planned-development dataset at all and sits north of the charter’s Eighth Street boundary. The accurate description for all of them is Flagler Drive waterfront, north or south of downtown. It is a distinction with practical consequences: the DDA levy, the CRA’s programs and the Master Plan’s zoning rules apply to specific footprints, and being outside them means different rules apply.
How tall can buildings be downtown?
It varies by district, and the City sets it out in Article IV of the zoning code. In the Quadrille Business District — described in the code as the main office core for downtown and the link between CityPlace and Clematis Street — base heights run from three stories or 50 feet up to ten stories or 155 feet depending on subdistrict. The Clematis Waterfront District runs from five stories or 68 feet up to ten stories or 128 feet, and its CWD-CD subdistrict caps lot agglomeration at 25,000 square feet. The Flagler Waterfront District has a base height of five stories or 68 feet. Above those bases the City maps a parcel-by-parcel incentive system whose highest tiers reach 25 stories in the Quadrille Business, Quadrille Garden and Okeechobee Business districts, and there is a transfer of development rights program in the code as well. The code itself cautions that these are maximum development allowances and that achieving them depends on other regulations and the physical characteristics of the site — so treat any number as a question for the City’s Planning Division about a specific parcel.
Does the Downtown Development Authority affect my property taxes?
If your property is inside the DDA boundary, yes — it is a separate taxing district on top of city and county millage. The DDA’s charter authorizes a levy of up to two mills, and the Authority publishes a current rate of 0.97 mill, which it describes as $0.97 per $1,000 of assessed value, illustrated on its own site with a $500,000 condominium paying approximately $485 a year. The Authority also states it is authorized to levy a second mill, which has been covered since 2007 through an interlocal agreement with the City’s Community Redevelopment Agency. Two caveats: the 0.97 figure carries no date on the DDA’s page, so confirm the current millage rather than relying on it, and the boundary matters — a property marketed as downtown may sit outside the district entirely. This is general information rather than tax advice; confirm with the Property Appraiser and your own adviser.
What do homes cost in Downtown West Palm Beach?
We publish no figure, because none that meets our standard exists. There is no authoritative median or average sale price for downtown, for the Downtown Development Authority district, for the City of West Palm Beach or for ZIP 33401, and no days-on-market, inventory, price-per-square-foot or association-fee figure either. What does exist, and what we do publish, is an aggregate: the Palm Beach County Property Appraiser treats the DDA as its own taxing authority, and total taxable value inside the district was $4,378,896,905 on the final 2025 tax roll dated 8 October 2025, with the Property Appraiser’s 2026 estimate dated 1 June 2026 putting it at $4,791,806,771 — a 10.46% increase, of which $223.3 million is net new construction value. That is a district-wide tax base, not a price and not a median, and it says nothing about what any individual residence is worth. For that, Christian pulls verifiable comparables for the specific building and line, with the source and date shown for each.
What is the difference between Clematis Street and CityPlace?
They are the two retail centres of downtown, and the zoning code treats them as such — the Quadrille Business District between them is described as the link between the city’s two main retail centers. Clematis Street is the older of the two; the code calls the Clematis Waterfront District the historic retail corridor in downtown and sets out to preserve the character and scale of existing buildings between Rosemary Avenue and Flagler Drive, including a 25,000 square foot cap on lot agglomeration in part of it. The storefronts there are smaller and individually addressed, including Pioneer Linens at 210 North Clematis Street and Bechtel Jewelers, which the DDA describes as originally established on Clematis Street in 1930. CityPlace, at 700 South Rosemary Avenue, is a single mixed-use destination with more than 50 shops and restaurants under one owner, Related Ross, and it is where the national retailers sit — Crate & Barrel, Anthropologie and Alo all carry South Rosemary Avenue addresses. One naming note worth knowing: it was branded Rosemary Square for several years, and that domain now redirects to cityplace.com, so the CityPlace name is again the current one as of July 2026.
What schools are near Downtown West Palm Beach?
Within or close to ZIP 33401, the School District of Palm Beach County operates U. B. Kinsey/Palmview Elementary at 800 11th Street, Roosevelt Elementary, Westward Elementary at 1101 Golf Avenue, and the Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts at 501 South Sapodilla Avenue, a grades 9–12 arts choice program admitting by application. Nearby beyond the core are Bak Middle School of the Arts at 1725 Echo Lake Drive, another arts choice program; Conniston Community Middle at 3630 Parker Avenue, which offers the International Baccalaureate programme; and Palm Beach Lakes Community High at 3505 Shiloh Drive. Independent and parochial options downtown and just outside it include Rosarian Academy at 807 North Flagler Drive, St. Ann Catholic School at 324 North Olive Avenue, The Bilgrav School at 307 Evernia Street, Palm Beach Day Academy’s lower school at 1901 South Flagler Drive and The Greene School at 2001 South Dixie Highway. Two honest caveats. This is not an attendance-zone list — the schools are here because they are geographically near downtown, several are choice programs with no residential zone at all, and assignment must be confirmed for a specific address with the School District of Palm Beach County. And we publish no ratings, rankings or scores for any school, anywhere on this site.

Homes for sale in Downtown West Palm Beach

No listings in Downtown West Palm Beach right now

Authorized listings appear here as they come to market. Christian can also watch this area for you and send matches as soon as they surface.

Sources & references 37

Facts on this page are drawn from the following sources, accessed as of the date noted.

Let's talk

Thinking about buying or selling in Downtown West Palm Beach?

Schedule a private consultation, view available homes, or get neighborhood market updates as they're published. Christian follows up personally.

Ask about Downtown West Palm Beach

Christian follows up personally — usually within one business day.